Vikings to induct Jared Allen into their Ring of Honor

The Minnesota Vikings will induct former DE Jared Allen into the club’s Ring of Honor during a halftime ceremony of the team’s game against the Arizona Cardinals on Sunday, October 30, the team announced Friday.

“When we traded for Jared, his impact on the team was immediate,” said Vikings Owner/Chairman Zygi Wilf via a statement announcing the move. “His talent as a pass rusher was a perfect addition to the defense and helped make us one of the best units in the NFL. The type of teammate he was in the locker room and person he was within the community were as equally important as his play on the field. He belongs in the Minnesota Vikings Ring of Honor.”

Allen spent six seasons with the Vikings (2008-13), earning three Associated Press 1st-Team All-Pro honors and four Pro Bowl berths. Allen set the Vikings record for sacks in a season with 22.0 in 2011, a mark that ranks tied for 3rd in NFL history. He ranked in the NFL’s top 10 in sacks in each of his six Vikings seasons, and his 136.0 career sacks rank as the 12th-most in NFL history. Allen is tied for the NFL record with four career safeties, all coming with the Vikings, including an NFL season record-tying pair in 2008.

During his Vikings tenure, Allen averaged .89 sacks per game played (85.5 sacks/96 games), the highest average in Vikings history. Allen was a cornerstone for three consecutive Vikings defensive units that ranked in the NFL’s top 10 from 2008-10 (#6, #6, #8). Allen was acquired via trade with Kansas City in 2008 after spending 2004-07 with the club.

Allen is the seventh former Vikings defensive lineman to earn his place in the Ring of Honor. His addition brings the Vikings Ring of Honor to 27 members.

Current members of Vikings Ring of Honor:

Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Fred Zamberletti, Jim Marshall, Ron Yary, Korey Stringer, Mick Tingelhoff, Carl Eller, Cris Carter, Bill Brown, Jerry Burns, Randall McDaniel, Chuck Foreman, John Randle, Scott Studwell, Chris Doleman, Matt Blair, Joey Browner, Ahmad Rashad, Randy Moss, Dennis Green, Steve Jordan and Kevin Williams.

Leave a Reply