NFL announces 32 player nominees for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The 32 player nominees for the sixth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 13.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.






QB Drew Brees

New Orleans Saints


LB Luke Kuechly

Carolina Panthers


RB Frank Gore

Indianapolis Colts


CB Charles Woodson

Oakland Raiders


WR Larry Fitzgerald

Arizona Cardinals

The winner, selected by the vote of the players, will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.






Arizona Cardinals

C A.Q. Shipley

Los Angeles Chargers

LB Thomas Davis Sr.

Atlanta Falcons

WR Julio Jones

Los Angeles Rams

S Eric Weddle

Baltimore Ravens

QB Lamar Jackson

Miami Dolphins

C Daniel Kilgore

Buffalo Bills

LB Lorenzo Alexander

Minnesota Vikings

DE Danielle Hunter

Carolina Panthers

RB Christian McCaffrey

New England Patriots

WR Matthew Slater

Chicago Bears

DB Kyle Fuller

New Orleans Saints

T Terron Armstead

Cincinnati Bengals

DE Sam Hubbard

New York Giants

DL Dalvin Tomlinson

Cleveland Browns

RB Nick Chubb

New York Jets

DL Steve McLendon

Dallas Cowboys

CB Byron Jones

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Denver Broncos

LB Von Miller

Philadelphia Eagles

QB Carson Wentz

Detroit Lions

QB Matthew Stafford

Pittsburgh Steelers

RB James Conner

Green Bay Packers

CB Tramon Williams

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Houston Texans

QB Deshaun Watson

Seattle Seahawks

LB K.J. Wright

Indianapolis Colts

WR T.Y. Hilton

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

LB Lavonte David

Jacksonville Jaguars

DL Calais Campbell

Tennessee Titans

C Ben Jones

Kansas City Chiefs

QB Patrick Mahomes

Washington Redskins

RB Adrian Peterson

Leave a Reply