Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes named league MVP

On Thursday, the NFL handed out awards from the 2022 season at the 12th Annual NFL Honors. Before he plays in Super Bowl 57, Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes was shown a little love as he was named the AP Most Valuable Player for the second time in his career.

Mahomes led the NFL in passing yards(5250) and touchdown passes(41).

Raiders running back Josh Jacobs, who led the NFL in rushing(1653) this season, became the first recipient of the Jim Brown Award, and Cowboys quarter Dak Prescott was awarded the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. 

Below is the complete list of awards and winners:

AP Most Valuable Player

Patrick Mahomes

Kansas City Chiefs

AP Coach of the Year

Brian Daboll

New York Giants

AP Comeback Player of the Year

Geno Smith

Seattle Seahawks

AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft Surface

Justin Jefferson

Minnesota Vikings

AP Defensive Player of the Year

Nick Bosa

San Francisco 49ers

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year

Garrett Wilson

New York Jets

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

Sauce Gardner

New York Jets

AP Assistant Coach of the Year

DeMeco Ryans

San Francisco 49ers




Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

Dak Prescott

Dallas Cowboys

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Calais Campbell

Baltimore Ravens

Deacon Jones Award

Nick Bosa

San Francisco 49ers

Jim Brown Award

Josh Jacobs

Las Vegas Raiders

Leave a Reply