NBA reveals 75th Anniversary Team

In 75 NBA seasons, there have been a lot of great players. The NBA unveiled the 75th Anniversary Team on Thursday night, selected by a panel of current and former NBA players, coaches, general managers, team and league executives, WNBA legends, and sportswriters and broadcasters.  

As a result of a tie in the voting, the 75th Anniversary Team features 76 players. Team highlights include:

Eleven active players have been named to the 75th Anniversary Team: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, James Harden, LeBron James, Kawhi Leonard, Damian Lillard, Chris Paul and Russell Westbrook. 

  • All 50 members of the NBA 50th Anniversary Team, which was named in 1996, have been selected to the 75th Anniversary Team.

  • The 75th Anniversary Team includes four players who played in the first NBA All-Star Game in 1951 (Paul Arizin, Bob Cousy, George Mikan and Dolph Schayes), the first winner of the Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award (Bob Pettit for the 1955-56 season) and the first winner of the Bill Russell NBA Finals MVP Award (Jerry West for the 1969 NBA Finals).

  • Bill Russell joins Cousy, Mikan and Pettit as the only four players who have been named to all four NBA Anniversary Teams: the 25th Anniversary Team (10 players named), 35th Anniversary Team (11 players named), 50th Anniversary Team and 75th Anniversary Team.  (The 25th Anniversary Team was the only one of the four teams that did not allow for the inclusion of active players at the time.)

  • Six international players from six countries and territories have been selected to the 75th Anniversary Team: Antetokounmpo (Greece), Tim Duncan (U.S. Virgin Islands), Patrick Ewing (Jamaica), Steve Nash (Canada), Dirk Nowitzki (Germany) and Hakeem Olajuwon (Nigeria).

  • The five NBA legends who are serving as ambassadors for the 75th Anniversary Season are part of the 75th Anniversary Team: Clyde Drexler, Magic Johnson, Nowitzki, Pettit and Oscar Robertson.  Representing different eras of the league’s history, the ambassadors will make appearances throughout the 2021-22 season and have a significant presence at NBA All-Star 2022 in Cleveland.

Here is a complete list of the NBA 75th Anniversary Team:



Kareem Abdul-Jabbar


Clyde Drexler


Damian Lillard


Scottie Pippen


Ray Allen


Tim Duncan


Jerry Lucas


Willis Reed


Giannis Antetokounmpo


Kevin Durant


Karl Malone


Oscar Robertson


Carmelo Anthony


Julius Erving


Moses Malone


David Robinson


Nate Archibald


Patrick Ewing


Pete Maravich


Dennis Rodman


Paul Arizin


Walt Frazier


Bob McAdoo


Bill Russell


Charles Barkley


Kevin Garnett


Kevin McHale


Dolph Schayes


Rick Barry


George Gervin


George Mikan


Bill Sharman


Elgin Baylor


Hal Greer


Reggie Miller


John Stockton


Dave Bing


James Harden


Earl Monroe


Isiah Thomas


Larry Bird


John Havlicek


Steve Nash


Nate Thurmond


Kobe Bryant


Elvin Hayes


Dirk Nowitzki


Wes Unseld


Wilt Chamberlain


Allen Iverson


Hakeem Olajuwon


Dwyane Wade


Bob Cousy


LeBron James


Shaquille O’Neal


Bill Walton


Dave Cowens


Magic Johnson


Robert Parish


Jerry West


Billy Cunningham


Sam Jones


Chris Paul


Russell Westbrook


Stephen Curry


Michael Jordan


Gary Payton


Lenny Wilkens


Anthony Davis


Jason Kidd


Bob Pettit


Dominique Wilkins


Dave DeBusschere


Kawhi Leonard


Paul Pierce


James Worthy

Leave a Reply