CBS Sports, BIG3 announce broadcast team for 2019 season

CBS Sports and the BIG3 today announced the broadcast team for the 2019 season, which begins this Saturday, June 22 (8:00 PM ET) on CBS Television Network. The team will again feature longtime play-by-play announcer Brian Custer, analyst Jim Jackson and sideline reporter Michael Rapaport, who will all return for their third campaigns. The lineup will also include new adds Carter Blackburn, Brendan Haywood, Brandon Tierney, Avery Johnson and Ed Cohen.
“Our broadcast team has done an exceptional job providing exciting play-by-play and color around the league’s fierce competition,” said BIG3 co-founder Jeff Kwatinetz. “We’re excited for the new additions and what they’ll bring our fans during this season’s national television schedule.”  
During the 11-week season, games will air live on CBS Television Network and CBS Sports Network on both Saturday and Sunday, with a champion crowned live on CBS on Sunday, Sept. 1 (3:00 PM, ET). CBS Television Network will broadcast more than 20 hours this season, with CBS Sports Network set to televise more than 25 hours of additional live game coverage.
Blackburn and Cohen will both join Custer as announcers this season. Blackburn, who delivers college basketball and football play-by-play for CBS Sports, has served as CBS Sports Network’s lead announcer since 2014. Cohen is a 15-year veteran who has called a variety of sports including baseball, hockey and Olympic sports. For the past six seasons, he has announced college basketball games for CBS Sports Network.
Basketball veterans Haywood and Johnson will come on as weekly analysts. After retiring from the court, Haywood joined CBS Sports as a college basketball announcer and analyst. Johnson, who spent 22 seasons as a professional player as well as 10 combined seasons as a pro and collegiate coach, brings several years of in-studio experience to the team.
Tierney, an Emmy-winning television host, panelist and former play-by-play announcer, will serve as a sideline reporter this season—handling in-game updates and interviews with players and coaches. He is the current co-host of CBS Sports Radio’s popular “Tiki and Tierney” afternoon show.
The full televised schedule includes:
Sat 6/22         8:00-10:00 PM (CBS)
10:00-11:00 PM (CBS Sports Network)
Little Caesars Arena
Detroit, MI
Sun 6/23        1:00-3:00 PM (CBS)
3:00-4:00 PM (CBSSN)
Bankers Life Fieldhouse
Indianapolis, IN
Sat 6/29         12:00-2:00 PM (CBS) 
2:00-3:00 PM (CBSSN)
Spectrum Center
Charlotte, NC
Sun 6/30        5:00-8:00 PM (CBSSN)
Liacouras Center
Philadelphia, PA
Sat 7/6           5:00-8:00 PM (CBSSN)
Legacy Arena at the BJCC
Birmingham, AL
Sun 7/7          1:00-3:00 PM (CBS)
3:00-4:00 PM (CBSSN)                 
Start Farm Arena
Atlanta, GA   
Sat 7/13         12:00-2:00 PM (CBS)
2:00-3:00 PM (CBSSN)
Dunkin Donuts Center
Providence, RI
Sun 7/14        12:00-2:00 PM (CBS)
                        2:00-3:00 PM (CBSSN)                 
Barclays Center
Brooklyn, NY
Sat 7/20         3:00-4:00 PM (
4:00-6:00 PM (CBS)
Sprint Center
Kansas City, MO
Sun 7/21        1:00-2:00 PM (               
2:00-4:00 PM (CBS)
Chesapeake Energy Arena
Oklahoma City, OK
Sat 7/27         9:00 PM-12:00 AM (CBSSN)
                        Vivint Smart Home Arena
Salt Lake City, UT
Sat 8/3           1:00-3:00 PM (CBS)                       
3:00-4:00 PM (CBSSN)
Allstate Arena
Chicago, IL
Sun 8/4          4:00-7:00 PM (CBSSN)
                        Fiserv Forum
Milwaukee, WI
Sat 8/10         8:00-11:00 PM (CBSSN)
                        American Airlines Arena
Miami, FL
Sat 8/17         3:00-6:00 PM (CBS)           
American Airlines Center
Dallas, TX
Sun 8/18        3:00-6:00 PM (CBSSN)
                        AT&T Center
San Antonio, TX
Sun 8/25        Playoff Rounds
12:00-2:00 PM (CBSSN)
2:00-4:00 PM (CBS)
Smoothie King Center
New Orleans, LA
Sun 9/1          Championship Round
3:00-5:00 PM (CBS)
Staples Center
Los Angeles, CA
During the offseason, BIG3 added new top tier players to the league including Jason Terry, Joe Johnson, Josh Smith, Kendrick Perkins, Shannon Brown, Gilbert Arenas, Al Jefferson, Lamar Odom, Steve Blake, Mario Chalmers, Brandon Rush, Carlos Arroyo,and more.
Star players returning this year include Amar’e Stoudemire, Drew Gooden, Nate Robinson, Stephen Jackson, Carlos Boozer, Glen ‘Big Baby’ Davis, Chris ‘Birdman’ Andersen, Rashard Lewis, Metta World Peace, Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Corey Maggette, Cuttino Mobley, Jermaine O’Neal, Brian Scalabrine and many more. 
Teams will be coached by some of the top legends in the game, including Julius ‘Dr. J’ Erving, Gary Payton, Nancy Lieberman, Rick Barry, Lisa Leslie, and George ‘The Iceman’ Gervin. 

Is Tony Romo a Hall of Famer?

Tony Romo will head off to the broadcast booth after 14 seasons in the NFL. Romo will join CBS Sports as a game analyst.

What is Romo’s legacy? He had a lot of good moments, but not enough great moments. He is 21st in touchdown passes(248) in NFL history. He is the Cowboys’ all-time leader in touchdown passes, QB rating and yards; all those numbers are better than Hall of Famers and former Cowboy greats Troy Aikman and Roger Staubach.  He had 30-game winning drives, which is better than Hall of Famers Jim Kelly, Terry Bradshaw, Dan Fouts, Ken Stabler, Kurt Warner, Aikman and Staubach to name a few. However, most people only remember the failures; dropping the snap against the Seahawks, interception against the Giants in the playoffs (2007 season), and so much more.  Romo falls short because of his playoff failures. He is 2-4 in the playoffs. In the end, Romo did not win enough when it mattered the most!

If Romo could have found a way to win one Super Bowl, maybe he would have a case.

The Verdict: Romo makes “The Hall of Good.”


Romo to TV?

According to ESPN’s Adam Schefter,  CBS Sports might have some interest in Tony Romo.  It was previously reported that FOX Sports had some interest in Romo. Now, CBS sports might be in pursuit. At this point, Romo is still a member of the Dallas Cowboys.

You wonder what the future might hold for Romo.