‘Big Baby’ Davis on joining BIG3: ‘I have a lot left in the tank’

The BIG3 announced today that Glen Big Baby” Davis has joined the league and will be added to Power’s roster alongside Captain Corey Maggette and Co-Captain Cuttino Mobley. The trio will lead the team under NBA legend and Power coach Clyde Drexler. This offseason, BIG3 expanded rosters by adding a second co-captain to each team. Nate RobinsonBaron Davis, and Ron Artesthave previously been announced as high-profile co-captain acquisitions for Tri-State, 3’s Company and Killer 3s, respectively.  With Davis’ signing, four new co-captain spots remain.

 “I’m excited to be joining the BIG3,” said Davis.  “I have a lot left in the tank and I can’t wait to show it this summer.”

 Davis played nine seasons in the NBA with the Boston Celtics, Orlando Magic, and LA Clippers.  He averaged 8 points and 4.4 rebounds per game and won a championship with the 2008 Boston Celtics alongside teammates Ray Allen, Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, and BIG3 fan-favorite Brian Scalabrine. Prior to the NBA, Davis led LSU to the school’s first Final Four appearance in 2006 after a 20-year drought. 

Last season, Power finished in fourth place after falling to Ricky Davis’ Ghost Ballers in the BIG3 Playoffs. The team will fill its remaining roster spots in the BIG3 Draft.

The BIG3 previously announced  two-year agreements with 22 player captains, co-captains and coaches from the inaugural season, including 2017 BIG3 MVP Rashard Lewis, 2017 BIG3 Champions Trilogy’s Kenyon Martin, Al Harrington and coach Rick Mahorn, Allen Iverson, Corey Maggette, Chauncey Billups, Clyde Drexler, Gary Payton, Brian Scalabrine, Jermaine O’Neal, Charles Oakley, Stephen Jackson, Mike Bibby, DerMarr Johnson, Jermaine O’Neal, Ricky Davis, Josh Childress, Cuttino Mobley, Jerome Junk Yard Dog” Williams, George “The Iceman” Gervin, and Rick Barry.

The league has also announced that 25 players from the inaugural BIG3 season have signed to the 2018 BIG3 Draft Pool. Among those players eligible are Eddie Basden, Kareem Rush, Hakim Warrick, Ivan Johnson, Marcus Banks, Mo Evans, Paul McPherson, Rasual Butler, DeShawn Stevenson, Kendall Gill, Moochie Norris, Andre Owens, Mike Sweetney, Al Thornton, Ruben Patterson, David Hawkins, Lee Nailon, Mike James, Dominic McGuire, Xavier Silas, Derrick Byars, Desmon Farmer, Brian Cook, Eddie Robinson, and Larry Hughes. Each team will fill their three remaining roster spots at the 2018 Draft.

The BIG3’s 10-week season will tip off on June 22 and air live on Friday nights on FOX Broadcast Network and FS1.